Our First Few Trips

P1000214

Heidelberg – Our first out-of-town trip on our own.

Our initial travels focused on Germany. We enjoyed the Heidelberg castle, the city of Bacharach, Wiesbaden’s festivals, a show in Frankfurt. Our first overnight adventure was in Brussels, Belgium. We arrived with no special plan but just to enjoy the city, the waffles, and the chocolate.

P1000439

Brussels in the “Grand Place” – the main city square

P1000453

Our intention was to spend Thanksgiving in Venice, and I bought the airline tickets, but Venice experienced the worst flooding in decades and we decided to stay home. The irony was not lost on us that we were cancelling our trip to Venice because of flooding!

By the end of November, my focus was on Christmas Markets. I intended to enjoy as many as I could. Carys and I attended our first via a bus tour to Valkenburg, Netherlands where the Christmas Market is located in two underground caves.

P1000667

P1000685P1000680  P1000686

P1000706

 

I let our straight-A daughter skip school one class-free day to attend the Frankfurt market via train with a friend from work and me.

P1000730.fb

Todd and I attended the Wiesbaden, Rudesheim and Königsberg Markets. I enjoyed the Mainz Weihnachtsmarkt with Tim and Joel.

Leave a Reply

